The Four Noble Truths

Buddha Journey

It’s time to get back to the basics. It’s so often and easy to forget about the basic teachings because we’re so caught up in trying to learn advanced forms of meditation or understand profound concepts like emptiness and/or the Five Skandhas. The Four Noble Truths was Buddha’s first teaching after he attained Enlightenment and is regarded as the central doctrine of Buddhist teachings. We read about the Four Noble Truths every time we read a book about Buddhism or hear a lecture on Buddhism. It’s in every 101 book or video. Though it’s a basic, “it’s everywhere” concept, it’s also the most important.

The First Noble Truth is that life is suffering (Dukkha). For non-Buddhists or those new to it might take a dramatic reaction to the word “suffering,” because they might think of suffering in its literal sense of pain, gore, and torture. But suffering here means “dissatisfaction.”…

View original post 338 more words


Author: staceymariej

32, Wife (married at 19 years old in 2003), Mum of one (born in 2004), Registered Nurse since September 2010. Started spiritual journey in November 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s